Home GearTennis RacquetsRacquet Reviews Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review

by Tennisnerd
Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review

I have a bunch of racquets at home for testing and the biggest surprise of the bunch is the performance of the Prince Beast 98. Below I will tell you more about it in my Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review.

The Prince Beast line of racquets replaces the Prince Warrior series and introduces some new options. You can read more about the other racquets in the Prince Beast series here, this is the Prince Beast 98 racquet review.

The Prince Beast 98 is a racquet that takes up the fight with other frames in the same category: spin-friendly, easy-to-use racquets made for a modern game. Other solid racquets in this category are: Babolat Pure Strike 98, Wilson Blade 98 CV and the Angell K7 Red (click on the links to read my review).

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review – Here are the specs

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review - Specs

I think the spec sheet from Prince doesn’t really reflect the Beast 98 that I have (it’s not exactly “beastly” either). The 290 swing weight and 10 pts head light unstrung is lower than what I have. Mine came at around 330 grams and 32,5 cm balance strung an which felt like a close to perfect setup for it. I just added a few grams of lead at 3 and 9 and an over grip it was good to go. (It played fine also in stock form). The RA of 64 strung is pretty much spot on for this style of racquet.

Like most recent Prince racquets, the Beast 98 comes with Textreme technology. I have enjoyed pretty much every Textreme racquet I’ve hit with, so I think they’ve found something that works. If you want to hear/see Prince brag about what the Textreme tech does for the racquet – see below screenshot from the Prince website.

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review - Textreme

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review – How it plays

I had a lot of fun doing the Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review simply because this racquet is a lot of fun to play with! Strung with Volkl Cyclone 1.25 (yellow) you can really hit some nasty angles and wicked spins that you rarely attempt with heavier racquets. I had to keep my swing speed up not to land short, but I felt free to swing out and go on the attack. This was really a nice racquet to be aggressive with and I have already hit my fair share of forehand winners.

The Prince Beast 98 is not for players who like to caress beautiful drop shots and play serve-volley tennis, but more of a controlled Babolat Pure Drive that offers the modern player a nice, crisp yet comfortable response. It’s really a great stick for baseliners who like to play aggressively and move their opponents around the court. It’s fast, yet stable and easy-to-use. I thought the Prince Beast series would be fairly unexciting, but after trying this racquet…I’m definitely impressed.

Prince Beast 98 Racquet Review – Video review

What do you think of the Prince Beast 98? Would you be keen to try it? Please comment below.

***

Do you like Tennisnerd? Don’t miss a word or video by stalking us on social media. Every like and follow is appreciated!

YouTube
Instagram
Twitter
Facebook Page
Amazon Influencer

Buy tennis gear

EU
Racquet Depot
Pro Direct Tennis

USA
Tennis Express
Do It Tennis
Amazon.com

Racquet buying guides

Here is a great racquet buying guide to get you started.
What tennis racquet should I buy?
Top tennis racquets to buy right now
The Gear of the Year 2017

The Gear of the Year 2016
Tennis racquets for juniors
Tennis racquets for kids

Popular posts

What the ATP pros play
Questions about pro stock tennis racquets
Is a pro stock racquet better than a retail one?
Do professional players change racquets?
Racquet Commitment Issues

You may also like

21 comments

Alex April 23, 2018 - 9:12 pm

So how does it feel compared to the pure strike and the k7 – all 3 sort of different brands version of the same flavor ice cream?

Reply
Tennisnerd April 24, 2018 - 5:55 am

Hi Alex,
Well, there are differences!
Pure Strike – More direct, drive-through-the-ball feel. Less lively, but also firm on the arm (board-like at times). More controlled than the other two.
Prince Beast – More spin, easier on the arm than the Strike. Livelier response, so not great for flat hitters. But if you hit with spin you can swing away.
K7 Red – Very flexible and comfortable. Good touch. Less direct feedback. Lower in power than the two above.

I like them all for different reasons. Pure Strike felt too stiff to me after a few months. Angell K7 great feel and comfort, but a bit too low in power. Beast 98 – a mix of them both, but my game might be too flat for this kind of racquet.

It really depends on your game and what you’re looking for…

Cheers / J

Reply
Grant April 24, 2018 - 12:04 am

Great Review, definitely agree with you on the feel.

Reply
Tennisnerd April 24, 2018 - 5:48 am

Thanks Grant!

Reply
Ronaldo April 26, 2018 - 2:39 pm

Hi
In your opinion, what is the difference between Prince Best 98 and Phantom 100P?
Thanks !
Ronaldo

Reply
Tennisnerd April 26, 2018 - 3:39 pm

Hi Ronaldo,
The Beast is stiffer and more powerful and also gives you a bit more spin. The Phantom 100P has more touch and feel and is more comfortable.

Both nice racquets! Cheers / J

Reply
Manjunath V August 19, 2018 - 11:22 am

Hi.. seeing your video review I decided to get one for myself.
Currently I play with yonex vcore sv 98 305 grams. It offers me everything except a solid plough through, off centred shots are heywire, sometimes a bit stiff and serves are not great.

Previously I was using wilson prostaff 97 315 gram, it was wayy too stiff for my liking.
For fun I tried wilson blx six one 90 square inch 320 grams it was fun to hit, but shoulders would hurt after an hour or so..
I was looking for playability of yonex with plough through. Will this offer me what i am looking for

Reply
Tennisnerd August 20, 2018 - 9:09 am

Hi, this is a nice stick and I think you are on the right track with this racquet. It will feel more “solid” than the SV 98 and less stiff. If you want a little extra stability, add some lead tape at 3 and 9 and you are good to go! If you want to maintain balance and have a little more weight, add 2 grams to the throat of the racquet.

Good luck! Cheers / Jonas

Reply
LUCAS November 24, 2018 - 5:05 pm

Hi Jonas

Just bought one, I’ll test nextweek with cyclone tour with 48 pounds, what would you think of thi racquet with leaether grip and 2 grams on 12?

Reply
Tennisnerd November 24, 2018 - 5:40 pm

Hi Lucas,
Yes, try that! Sounds like a great setup 🙂 Cheers / J

Reply
Rafael April 17, 2019 - 1:28 am

Jonas, thanks for your review, even though it’s about a year old! Better late than never. I came across your review after doing some research on the Yonex VCore 98 (305), and as a result, I’m really interested in trying this racquet. I’ve been playing with the Yonex VCore 97 330 since it came out, but am looking for something a little bit lighter and easier to swing (I play a lot of doubles), but stable at the same time.

You continue to produce great content. Keep up the great work!

Reply
Tennisnerd April 18, 2019 - 10:07 am

Thanks Rafael, appreciate it!

Regards / Jonas

[Please consider supporting Tennisnerd by sharing our content and/or subscribing to our unique content at https://www.patreon.com/tennisnerd%5D

Reply
Tennisnerd April 18, 2019 - 10:09 am

Thanks! I am also moving towards lighter racquets and higher swing speeds. The VCORE 98 is not bad, I would also consider Tecnifibre Tfight 305 XTC with a higher swing weight.

[ Please consider supporting Tennisnerd by sharing our content and/or subscribing to our unique content at https://www.patreon.com/tennisnerd ]

Reply
Rafael April 20, 2019 - 11:57 pm

I demoed this racquet and loved it! I’m making the switch. Your review was really accurate. Easier to use than my Yonex 330, and still plenty stable. Thanks, Jonas!

Reply
Rod Black May 18, 2019 - 12:28 pm

How would you compare this to the DR98? Which would be your favourite of the two? Thanks

Reply
Tennisnerd May 21, 2019 - 8:17 am

Hi Rod,
Tough one! They play quite close. In the end, I preferred the feel of the Beast 98 and would go with that one. Spin and power levels are very close. Cheers / J

Reply
Ken Harris July 22, 2019 - 1:56 am

Hi Tennisnerd,

I really like the racquets that Prince is now offering. As such, I have narrowed my search down to the Tour 310 or the Beast 98.

Which offers more comfort, power, spin and control? I am more concerned with the comfort aspect since I do have some arm issues. Lastly, which frame do you think would play better with a basic synthetic string since I don’t play with poly?

Reply
Stephanos January 6, 2020 - 10:14 am

Hi J ! Happy new year !
Thx for all the reviews and vids you make, it’s really helpful.
As I always come back to this review of the Beast98 that you loved, and remember your arm issues this days (Hope it will be better for you in 2020) I wondered why you haven’t tried the Beast 98 in O3 version because of the same problem, with more or less the same level and technic as yours.
For testing it for weeks, It (this O3 98 beast) is a really more confortable 98 head that many other. My arm is reborn. It’s dampened but with a good string you have so much good sensations and returns. I tried it with PTP, good, nice pocketing and spin, but was to soft at impact, I put Poly tour strike, feared a bit for my elbow But man… It was something near the graal : No pain in shoulder, elbow (that I normally have), great feeling and sensation, good plow through, low launch angle filled with spin (so heawy balls as I did with my pure strike), stable, excellent maneuverability (maybe it’s the point you’ll love the least : headlight racquet !), flat bomb serve, good kick, great slice serve. Fast @ net. The control is really good to redirect the ball while still maintain great power. You can load the ball with spin… I could use a full poly bed with no pain, attacking the ball with full strokes…
I plaiyed the non O port beside and the O3 just gives you the “more” (or plus) sensation you will not break your arm with also more spin and huge forgiveness.
I think that if you still loved the Prince Beast 98 and (even If I hope not) still have arm problems, you should try this one. It’s under 100 $ now… I would be really interested in a video review of it, considering you could advise people/competitors with arm problems with a really good stick they call play with no pain. And it’s now a cheap solution, that’s why I think you should spread the world !!! 😉
It worked for me and friends (We played with Pure strike, Blades, Vcore pro…) and us 4 are now playing with this prince.
See you.

Reply
Tennisnerd January 7, 2020 - 7:57 am

Hi Stephanos,
Thanks for your tip and for sharing! O-ports are really comfortable 🙂

Regards / Jonas

Reply
Stephanos January 7, 2020 - 9:59 am

Hi Jonas !
Ahahah thx for you answer, even if… It’s a really small answer. I hoped you d said you would test it for your arm and also for people with arm problem. 😉
Hipe you’ll plan it maybe with new one (jan or feb 20?) or at least the current one which is really cheap. I think people need also advices about cheap solution that can fit them and save their body !
Really interested in seeing you playing with it and read/hear your impression
Hoping x1000 lol
Have a nice day Jonas.

Reply
Richard November 18, 2020 - 1:42 pm

Jonas,

Thanks for all your reviews. Currently Im playing with the Dunlop Cx 200 tour 18×20. How does this prince compare to it? I’m looking for a little more power but not lose too much of the control. I know they different but you seem to like both.

Reply

Leave a Comment